Press release IISL 2008-003
28 October 2008

The International Institute of Space Law (IISL) is pleased to announce the election of Professor Dr Stephan Hobe to the position of Treasurer of the IISL, at the General Assembly held in Glasgow, 1 October 2008.

Professor Hobe currently is a Member of the Board of Directors of IISL and was recently appointed as Chairman of the IISL Directorate of Studies. Since 1 September 2001 Professor Hobe has been the Holder of the Chair for Public International Law, European Law, European and International Economic Law, and the Director of the Institute of Air and Space Law, both at the University of Cologne in Germany. In addition, he is amongst others Rapporteur of the Space Law Committee of the International Law Association (ILA), a longstanding Member of the Board of Directors of the European Centre for Space Law (ECSL), and a Member of the Board of Directors as well as Treasurer of the German Society of International Law.

To ensure a smooth transition Professor Hobe will actually take over responsibilities from the current Treasurer, Professor Dr Frans von der Dunk, at the beginning of the next financial year, 1 January 2009.

Professor von der Dunk, who currently holds the Harvey and Susan Perlman Alumni / Othmer Chair of Space Law at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln, has been IISL Treasurer since his election to the IISL Board in Rio de Janeiro in 2000. He has overviewed the streamlining of the membership fee invoicing as well as the transition of the IISL to a more formal legal status, recently culminating in its establishment as an independent international Non-Governmental Organisation (NGO) under Dutch law in the Netherlands. Professor von der Dunk will continue to act as Director of Public Relations, and as such remain Member of the Board.

More information can be obtained at the IISL office, 94bis Avenue de Suffren, 75015 Paris, France.

Copyright 2008 © IISL. All rights reserved.