lachs moot rules about committee resources 2011 problem history
asia-pacific europe north america

2010 Manfred Lachs Space Law Moot Court Competition

The 2010 competition had over 40 participating teams 9 from Europe, 10 from North America and 29 from the Asia-Pacific region.

The world final was held on 30 September 2010 at the Regional Court of West Bohemia in Pilsen, Czech Republic.

The 2010 problem was the Case concerning Suborbital Tourism, Definition of Outer Space and Liability (Aspirantia v. Republica) written by Peter van Fenema (Netherlands).

For more information about the competition, please visit the dedicated website at

Winner, Lee Love Award

George Washington University (USA)
Ms. Liana W. Yung, Ms. Christa J. Laser and Mr. Michael Saretsky
Faculty Adviser: Prof. Henry Hertzfeld


National University of Singapore (Singapore)
Mr. Muhammad Aidil bin Zulkifli, Mr. Dominic Wei'an Tan and Ms. Ying Li Zanetta Joan Sit
Faculty Adviser: Prof. Lim Lei Theng.


University of Cologne (Germany)
Ms. Lisa Küpers, Mr. Martin Reynders and Mr. Erik Pellander.
Faculty Adviser: Mr. Jan Helge Mey.

Best Memorials, Eilene Galloway Award

National University of Singapore

Best Oralist, Sterns and Tennen Award

Ms. Ying Li Zanetta Joan Sit , National University of Singapore

Semi-Final Judges

Dr. Peter van Fenema (The Netherlands), Adj. Professor, McGill Institute of Air and Space Law, Montreal/Consultant
Prof. Dr. Jonathan Galloway (United States), Vice-President of the IISL
Prof. Steven Freeland (Australia), Associate Professor of International Law, University of West Sydney.

Final Judges

H.E. Judge Abdul Koroma, International Court of Justice
H.E. Judge Peter Tomka, International Court of Justice
H.E. Judge Leonid Skotnikov, International Court of Justice


Click here to download

2010 Lachs Moot Final video

2009 competition 2011 competition
Copyright 2010 © IISL. All rights reserved.