↑ Return to Board of directors

The Board of Directors

The Board of Directors is elected by the General Assembly and is responsible for the efficient and effective management and supervision of the activities and affairs of the Institute in accordance with its Statutes and Bylaws. The Board meets twice per year and is composed of twenty-one members, five of whom serve as Officers (President, two Vice- Presidents, Executive Secretary and Treasurer).

Current board


Position Title, Name Nationality Term of Office
President Prof. Dr Kai-Uwe Schrogl Germany 2016-2019
Vice-President Mr K.R. Sridhara Murthi India 2017-2020
Vice-President Prof. Dr Setsuko Aoki Japan 2017-2020
Executive Secretary Prof. Dr Diane Howard United States / Canada 2017-2020
Treasurer Mr Dennis J. Burnett United States 2017-2020
Board of Directors
Director Prof. Dr PJ Blount United States 2018-2021
Director Prof. Dr Frans G. von der Dunk Netherlands 2017-2020
Director Prof. Dr Marco Ferrazzani Italy 2018-2021
Director Prof. Dr Steven Freeland Australia 2016-2019
Director Prof. Joanne Irene Gabrynowicz United States 2018-2021
Director Prof. Dr Stephan Hobe Germany 2017-2020
Director Prof. Dr Mahulena Hofmann Czech Republic / Germany 2017-2020
Director Ms Corinne Jorgenson France / United States 2018-2021
Director Prof. Dr Armel Kerrest France 2018-2021
Director Dr Martha Mejia-Kaiser Mexico / Germany 2016-2019
Director Prof. Sergio Marchisio Italy 2016-2019
Director Ms Elina Morozova Russia 2016-2019
Director Prof. Dr Lesley-Jane Smith UK / Germany 2018-2021
Director Dr Milton ‘Skip’ Smith United States 2018-2021
Director Prof. Dr Maureen Williams UK / Argentina 2018-2021
Director Prof. Zhenjun Zhang China 2018-2021



Board members are elected for three-year terms and may be re-elected. Elections are run electronically and are managed by an Election Committee, appointed each year by the General Assembly.

Tasks and qualification criteria for the Board of Directors

The general tasks of all board members are to attend all meetings of the Board of Directors and General Assemblies and actively contribute to the realisation of the purposes and objectives of the Institute. Maintain the highest ethical standards and act in the best interest of the Institute.

PresidentHighest-ranking Officer of the Institute, chair all conferences and meetings of the Institute and perform all duties pertaining to the office.

Vice-Presidents: Actively assist the President and carry out duties assigned by the General Assembly, the Board of Directors or the President.

Executive Secretary: Keep the minutes of meetings, give notice of meetings and generally perform all duties the office may require.

Treasurer: Custodian of all funds of the Institute, manage the Institute’s accounts and disburse funds upon submission of appropriate bills or statements.

Member of the Board: Individual Member or designated representative of an Institutional Member, significant experience in the juridical or social science aspects of space activities, committed to the Purposes and Objectives of the Institute.