lachs moot rules about committee resources 2017 problem calendar history
africa asia-pacific europe north america contact us

The awards in the Lachs Moot World Finals are dedicated in the name of the following people:

  • Eilene M. Galloway Award for Best Memorial
  • Lee Love Award for Winner
  • Sterns and Tennen Award for Best Oralist

Dr Eilene M. Galloway (1906-2009) was a legend in the fields of space policy and space law, having been instrumental in the formation of the National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA). From 1941-1975, she worked for the U.S. Congress as a staff member of the Legislative Reference Service (later the Congressional Research Service) and was called upon by then-Senate Majority Leader Lyndon B. Johnson to advise him on how to respond to the Soviet Union's launch of Sputnik 1 on October 4, 1957. She assisted Senator Johnson as well as then-Speaker of the House John McCormack in crafting the National Aeronautics and Space Act, which created NASA. She accompanied Senator Johnson to the United Nations when he represented the United States in recommending creation of what is now known as the Committee on Peaceful Uses of Outer Space (COPUOS). She was an official observer at COPUOS from 1970-94. She was a founding member of the IISL, its Vice President (1967-1979), and an Honorary Director (1979-2009). She also helped establish Section 4 (Social Sciences) of the International Academy of Astronautics (IAA). She received many awards, but was especially proud of the Andrew G. Haley Gold medal that she received from the IISL in 1968.

Mrs Lee M. Love was a pioneer in reporting on United Nations' efforts to ensure the peaceful uses of outer space for over 40 years. She wrote about the United Nations Committee on the Peaceful Uses of Outer Space (COPUOS) from its early days. Her personal relations were so close with committee members, that she became one of the very few people who was able to host receptions with delegates from both, the United Sates and the former Soviet Union, in informal settings to promote understanding during the Cold War years. By the time she left the U.N., Lee had covered man's flights into space and the moon and reported on arguments over who owned the rights to outer space, seas and satellites orbits. She attended the annual International Astronautical Congress all over the world and was member of the International Institute of Space Law. The Lee Love Award for members of the winning team in the Manfred Lachs space law moot court competition, which she supported and attended each year with immense pleasure and interest, was established in her honour by her family. She passed away in 2008.

Dr Patricia M. Sterns & Dr Leslie Tennen. In 1997, five years after the competition started, Patricia Sterns and Les Tennen of the Law Offices of Sterns and Tennen, in Phoenix, Arizona, proposed that an award be presented to the best oralist of the World Finals. The Board of Directors accepted this proposal, together with their offer to sponsor the award, which has since become eponymous. Patricia and Les have been active members of the Institute and have participated in IISL colloquia for more than three decades. Patricia served as a Judge Pro Tem of the Maricopa County Superior Court, and after serving as a member of the Board, was elected as an Honorary Director of the IISL. Les was appointed to two terms as a Commissioner on the Arizona Space Commission, and currently is the Chair of the IISL Audit Committee and is Co-Chair of the Moot Court Committee.

Copyright 2010 © IISL. All rights reserved.