World Finals Winners: 2015 Manfred Lachs Moot Court Competition

We are pleased to announce the results of the Manfred Lachs Moot Court World Finals, which took place in Jerusalem, Israel, on 15 October 2015.

After an interesting Final round in front of Judges Tomka, Bhandari and Gevorgian, from the International Court of Justice (ICJ), the Judges awarded the Winner title to the team from University of Mississippi, School of Law, Oxford, Mississippi, US. This team also received the Lee Love Award for Best Team. Student members of this team were:

  • Ms Olivia Hoff
  • Mr Ian Perry
  • Mr C. J. Robison

Faculty Advisor: Prof. Michael Dodge
Faculty Advisor Assistant: Prof. Dr Michael Mineiro

The Runner-up team was from National and Kapodistrian University of Athens, Greece, composed by the following students:

  • Ms Marianthi Koutri
  • Ms Maria Vasilaki
  • Mr Athanasios Plexidas

Faculty Advisor: Georgios Kyriakopoulos
Faculty Advisor Assistant: Charalampos Panagiotopoulos

The ICJ Judges decided to award the title of Best Oralist of the Final Round to Athanasios Plexidas, from the National and Kapodistrian University of Athens. Mr Plexidas also was conferred the Sterns and Tennen Award for Best Oralist.

The World Semi-Finalist titles were awarded to the following teams:

Obafemi Awolowo University, City of Ile-Ife, Nigeria, with the following students:

  • Ms Peace Onashile
  • Mr John Odey
  • Mr Toheeb Amuda

Faculty Advisor: Dr. Akinwale Orifowomo

And the team from NALSAR University of Law, Hyderabad, India, with the following students:

  • Ms Chinmayi Sharma
  • Mr Debarpan Ghosh
  • Mr Ravishankar Krishnan

Faculty Advisor: Prof. Balakista Reddy

The Semi-Finals judges were:

  • Prof. Dr Frans G. von der Dunk, Dr Ranjana Kaul and Dr Kai-Uwe Schrogl
  • Prof. Dr Steven Freeland, Asst. Prof. Dr Diane Howard and Dr Marco Ferrazzani

The Best Memorial combined Score Award was granted to the team from University of Mississippi, School of Law, Oxford, Mississippi, US. This team was also awarded the Eilene M. Galloway Award for Best Memorial.

Judges for Memorials were:

Ms Marcia Smith, Dr Ulrike M. Bohlmann, Dr Zeldine Niamh O'Brien, Ms Icho Kealotswe, Prof. Li Juqian, Maury J. Mechanick, Esq., Prof. Vernon Nase and Mr Chris Okegbe.

The 2015 Moot Court Problem "Case Concerning Planetary Defence" (SPIDR v. URA) was written by Dr. Frans G. von der Dunk (The Netherlands/United States) and Leslie I. Tennen, Esq. (United States).

We heartily congratulate all these winners and thank them, the ICJ Judges and the judges for Semi-Finals (orals and memorials), as well as the authors of the Problem for all the efforts and enthusiasm to make this competition a memorable event.

Copyright 2015 © IISL. All rights reserved.