Press release IISL 2011-004: IISL Awards at the Cape Town International Astronautical Congress
7 October 2011

At the recent International Astronautical Congress (IAC) in Cape Town, South Africa, 3-7 October 2011, the International Institute of Space Law (IISL) handed out its annual awards to persons for their specific and distinguished contributions to the IISL.

Firstly, a Lifetime Achievement Award was awarded to H.E. Judge Abdul G. Koroma, member of the International Court of Justice (ICJ), for his extraordinary career of more than 40 years in jurisprudence, diplomacy and international organizational leadership. In particular, Judge Koroma has faithfully served as a judge of the world final rounds of the IISL's Manfred Lachs Space Law Moot Court Competition since 1997, making him the longest-sitting judge on that final rounds court.

Secondly, another Lifetime Achievement Award was given to Dr. Ernst Fasan of Austria, in recognition of more than half a century of membership in and support of the IISL and the advancement of space law, which included being a co-founding member of the IISL in 1960.

Thirdly, an Award of Appreciation was presented to Prof. Datuk Dr. Mazlan Othman for her continuing interest in, cooperation with, and support for the International Institute of Space Law and its objectives, in particular as Director of the UN Office of Outer Space Affairs.

Fourthly, a Distinguished Service Award was handed to Prof. Joanne Irene Gabrynowicz, Director of the National Center for Remote Sensing, Air and Space Law of the University of Mississippi, Editor-in-Chief of the Journal of Space Law and Director of the IISL, on account of her dedication to the interests of space law and the IISL.

Finally, Mr. Scott Hatton was presented with a Certificate of Gratitude for his continuing and diligent efforts as IISL webmaster since 2007, including the recent migration of the website of the Manfred Lachs Space Law Moot Court Competition.

Copyright 2011 © IISL. All rights reserved.