IISL awards in Hyderabad
28 September 2007

During the closing ceremony of the International Astronautical Congress held in Hyderabad, India, the IISL gave a Lifetime Achievement Award to Mr Sridhara Murthi of India, and a Distinguished Service Award was presented to Prof. Ram Jakhu of Canada.

The Dr. I.H.Ph. Diederiks-Verschoor Award and Prize were given for the seventh time, to Mr. Fabio Tronchetti of Italy, PhD student at Leiden University, for his paper The Non-Appropriation Principle Under Attack Using Article II of the Outer Space Treaty in its Defence. The evaluation committee consisted as usual of Prof. Back Impallomeni (chair), Dr Jakhu and Dr Ospina. This year the IISL received a record 11 entries. The winning paper gets a special mention in the Proceedings.

The Award honours the best paper presented at an IISL Colloquium by an author not older than 40 years and who has not published more than five papers in the Proceedings of IISL Colloquia. The Award consists of a medal and a money prize of 500 Euros.

Copyright 2008 © IISL. All rights reserved.