The IISL has a new website!

Please visit for the latest information.

The page that you are viewing will be retained for information. It will no longer be updated.
Diederiks-Verschoor Award

The Prof. Dr I.H.Ph. Diederiks-Verschoor Award is granted annually by the IISL Board of Directors. The Award is given to the best paper accepted for presentation at the Institute's Colloquium by an author not older than 30 years and who has not published more than five papers in the Proceedings of IISL Colloquia.

A medal is donated each year by the initiator of the Award, Prof. Oscar Fernandez Brital from Argentina.

Applications are now being accepted for the Prof. Dr I.H.Ph. Diederiks-Verschoor Award. The award will be presented during the annual IISL Dinner held during the IAC for which the winner will receive a complimentary ticket. In order to be eligible to apply an applicant's paper must have been accepted for presentation at the IISL Colloquium. Applicants must email the completed Entry Form along with their paper in MS Word format without name, affiliation or any other information that could identify the author by 24 September 2015 to the IISL Executive Secretary at

Previous winners

2016 Pierfrancesco Breccia (Italy) for his paper titled Article III of the Outer Space Treaty and its relavance in the international space legal framework

2015 Dimitri Linden (Belgium) for his paper titled The Impact of National Space Legislation in Private Space Undertakings: A Regulatory Competition Between States?

2014 Joyeeta Chatterjee (India) for her paper titled Legal Issues Relating To Unauthorised Space Debris Remediation

2013 Elena Carpanelli and Brendan Cohen for their paper titled The Notion of Damage Caused by a Space Object under the 1972 Liability Convention

2012 Olavo de Oliveira Bittencourt Neto (Brazil) for his paper The Elusive Frontier: Revisiting the Delimitation of Outer Space

2011 Irina Kerner (Germany) for her paper Supranational Space: Why the Powers of the EU are Not Quite Parallel

2010 Philip de Man (Belgium) for his paper The commercial exploitation of outer space and celestial bodies - a functional solution to the natural resource challenge

2009 Catherine Doldirina (Russia) for her paper A rightly balanced intellectual property rights regime as a mechanism to enhance commercial earth observation activities

2007 Fabio Tronchetti for his paper The non-appropriation principle under attack using article II of the Outer Space Treaty in its defence

2006 Yun Zhao for his paper Protection of Intellectual Property Rights in Outer Space

2005 Zeldine O'Brien for her paper Consumer protection and the limitation of liability in the national regulation of the space industry

2004 Atsuyo Ito for her paper Legal Aspects of the International Charter on Space and Major Disasters

2003 Gérardine Meishan Goh for her paper Tintallë - Kindling International Security with Space Law

2002 Ricky Lee for his paper The ius ad bellum in outer space: the interrelation between Article 103 of the Charter of the United Nations and Article IV of the Outer Space Treaty

2001 Alvaro Fabricio dos Santos (Brazil) for his paper Brazil and the Registration Convention.


Download the regulations for the Prof. Dr. I.H.Ph. Diederiks-Verschoor Award

Download the entry form for the Prof. Dr. I.H.Ph. Diederiks-Verschoor Award

Copyright 2009 © IISL. All rights reserved.